Australian National University

The ANU Health Science pathway interview: 40 per cent of the score, format unpublished

ANU runs an internal pathway from its Bachelor of Health Science into the Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, with up to 40 domestic offers a year and no GAMSAT. Offers rank on a weighted average mark at 40 per cent, an admissions interview at 40 per cent and five written selection criteria responses at 20 per cent, and the interview carries a 60 per cent pass hurdle.

This guide covers one pathway

Pathway
Bachelor of Health Science to Doctor of Medicine and Surgery pathway
Who it is for
Students already enrolled in the ANU Bachelor of Health Science who have completed at least 72 units and are on track for 96 by 31 December
Course
Doctor of Medicine and Surgery (MChD) via the Bachelor of Health Science
Apply through
Internal ANU pathway application form, no GEMSAS and no admissions centre
Interview required
yes
Format
Not published. ANU names it only as an Admissions Interview and publishes a 60 per cent raw pass score
Delivery
Not published
Timing
Early to mid-September, outcome released in January
Weighting
Weighted Average Mark 40 per cent, interview 40 per cent, selection criteria responses 20 per cent
Last verified

ANU runs an internal route from its Bachelor of Health Science into the Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, and it is nothing like the graduate route that sits alongside it. There is no GEMSAS application, no admissions centre and no GAMSAT. You apply mid-degree, on a form ANU publishes itself, and the whole thing is decided on three components.

ANU states that "Offers to the MChD program will be based on a final weighted score derived from a student's weighted average mark (40%), interview score (40%) and selection criteria responses (20%)." The interview matches your marks for weight, and it also carries a hurdle: a pass is defined as a minimum raw interview score of 60 per cent.

Who is eligible, and when

Eligibility is measured in units rather than years, and it is measured at ANU. A student becomes eligible once they have successfully completed a minimum of 72 units, which is 12 courses, and are on track to complete a minimum of 96 units, or 16 courses, by 31 December in the year of application. Those courses must have been completed at ANU.

ANU Bachelor of Health Science pathway eligibility
RequirementWhat ANU publishesStatus
EnrolmentCurrently enrolled in the ANU Bachelor of Health Science. The pathway is open to both domestic and international studentsPublishedConfirmed
ProgressAt least 72 units (12 courses) completed, and on track for at least 96 units (16 courses) by 31 December in the year of applicationPublishedConfirmed
Compulsory coursesAll 1000-level and 2000-level compulsory courses completed or currently enrolled, including the pre-medicine stream courses CHEM1101, CHEM1201 and BIOL2171PublishedConfirmed
External credit capA maximum of 1.0 FTE (48 units) of external course credit. Students with credit are advised to contact admissions before accepting it, because credit can affect pathway eligibilityPublishedConfirmed
Minimum WAM75 per cent, calculated from the best n-2 of n courses completed, using numerically graded courses only, with at least 14 such courses needed for a WAM to be calculatedPublishedConfirmed
Application windowThe pathway application form opens 31 March and closes 30 July each yearPublishedConfirmed
GuaranteeNone. ANU states admission via this pathway is competitive and meeting all admission requirements does not automatically guarantee entryPublishedConfirmed
Sources: ANU BHLTH pathway page and ANU Programs and Courses. ANU marks all pathway dates as subject to change and gives an admissions address for confirmation.

What ANU publishes about the interview

Very little, and it is better to say so than to fill the gap. ANU calls it the Admissions Interview, places it in early to mid-September, and publishes a scoring rule. It does not publish a format, a station count, a duration, an interviewer count, or whether the interview is held online or in Canberra.

ANU Bachelor of Health Science pathway interview, what is published
ElementWhat ANU publishesStatus
NameAdmissions InterviewPublishedConfirmed
TimingEarly to mid-SeptemberPeriod published, no exact datesIndicative window
Weighting40 per cent of the final weighted scorePublishedConfirmed
Pass markA passed interview is defined as a minimum raw interview score of 60 per cent, and students must pass to be considered for an offerPublishedConfirmed
FormatNot published. No station count, structure or question type is givenNot publishedNot published
DurationNot publishedNot publishedNot published
DeliveryNot published. ANU does not state whether this interview is online or in personNot publishedNot published
Source: ANU BHLTH pathway page. For the separate domestic graduate round, GEMSAS states that ANU interviews are held online with no requirement to be in Canberra. ANU has not published the same statement for this pathway, so we have not carried it across.

The five written selection criteria

The remaining 20 per cent is written, and unusually, ANU publishes the actual questions. As part of the online application you submit a maximum 200-word response to each of five selection criteria, which ANU describes as the skills, knowledge and experience required for medical training that are not otherwise assessed in the admissions process.

  1. Curiosity and an orientation to lifelong learning, because medical knowledge and practice are in a constant state of development.
  2. Understanding the value of diverse healthcare professionals and the contributions colleagues across specialities and professions make to patient care.
  3. Taking a collaborative and respectful approach to working with others, including proactively building relationships within and across teams.
  4. Building or maintaining interests, relationships and activities outside medicine, as part of the self-care that makes caring for others possible.
  5. A description of a time you made a mistake, the steps you took to understand what went wrong, and how you addressed it.

Those are paraphrased headings. The published wording sits in ANU's selection criteria document, updated July 2025, and it is worth reading in full before writing anything, because each criterion is framed as a statement about medical students rather than as a question.

Places, offers and what happens if you miss out

ANU publishes the size of the pathway, which is rare and useful. Up to 40 domestic students from the Bachelor of Health Science receive an MChD offer each year, and approximately 30 per cent of those places are preferentially offered to students from a rural background. International students are considered in addition to those 40, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students are considered in addition to the domestic places as well.

ANU pathway offers and outcomes
ItemWhat ANU publishesStatus
Domestic placesUp to 40 conditional MChD offers each year, allocated by ranking positionPublishedConfirmed
Rural allocationApproximately 30 per cent of those places preferentially offered to students from a rural backgroundPublishedConfirmed
Place typesA Commonwealth Supported Place or a Bonded Medical Place. At least 28.5 per cent of first-year domestic places must be Bonded Medical PlacesPublishedConfirmed
Outcome releasedJanuaryPublishedConfirmed
DeferralStudents offered a place through this pathway may request to defer for 12 months, with written notice by the offer acceptance deadlinePublishedConfirmed
If unsuccessfulStudents may still apply through the standard domestic or international pathways if they meet those minimum requirementsPublishedConfirmed
Source: ANU BHLTH pathway page. The deferral rule is a real difference between pathways. For the domestic graduate route, ANU states that an offer is only valid for the year in which it is offered and that it will not consider deferrals.

Preparing when the format is not published

Everything above is ANU's published information. This section is MedCoach's preparation advice, and it starts from the unusual position that the format is unknown.

Prepare for both shapes, because you cannot rule either out

An unpublished format means the honest preparation is format-agnostic. Rehearse short scenario answers of four to five minutes, which covers a station circuit, and longer conversational answers of eight to ten minutes with follow-up questions, which covers a panel. If you can do both, whichever it turns out to be is a variation rather than a surprise.

Treat the 60 per cent hurdle as the design constraint

Most interview advice optimises for the top of the range. Here the first job is clearing a floor, and floors are usually failed on basics rather than on brilliance: answers that do not address the question, answers that stop after 40 seconds, or an answer that contradicts something you wrote in your selection criteria. Get those right before working on polish.

Your written responses are live material

You submit five reflective responses months before you are interviewed, and they are part of the same assessment. Reread them the week before. The mistake you described in criterion five is exactly the sort of thing an interviewer may open with, and it should sound like the same person telling the same story.

If you are applying to ANU as a graduate instead, the ANU MChD interview guide covers the GEMSAS round and its two-part September interview. The national interview guide compares formats across Australia, and the interview offer and date guide sets out the wider 2027-entry timeline.

Official sources

Every fact above traces to one of these first-party sources. Dates and formats are set by the universities and can change, so check the original page before you rely on it.

  1. ANU Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, Bachelor of Health Science pathwayAustralian National University · applies to Annual pathway cycle, no entry year stated on the page · checked 2026-08-16
  2. BHLTH to MChD pathway selection criteria (PDF)Australian National University · applies to Document updated July 2025 · checked 2026-08-16
  3. ANU Programs and Courses: Doctor of Medicine and Surgery (8950XMCHD)Australian National University · applies to 2027 program page · checked 2026-08-16
  4. ANU Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, domestic applicantsAustralian National University · applies to 2027 entry, cited here for the graduate-route contrast · checked 2026-08-16
  5. ANU Doctor of Medicine and Surgery program pageAustralian National University · applies to Cycle not stated on the page, live at our last check · checked 2026-08-16

MedCoach is an independent study tool and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to any university or admissions body. Read how we research and check this information in our editorial standards, which also explains how to send us a correction.